The Plan as of 31 December 2016

This quest is largely inspired by the idea of “Remedial Worldly Wisdom” as outlined in Poor Charlie’s Almanac. My current plan is to focus on one skill a month, beginning with Meta Skills (learning how to learn and think), and moving into specific skills to improve my life and abilities. As it stands, the list of skills and areas of learning are as follows:

  • January – Memory Improvement
  • February – Strategic Thinking
  • March – Mathematical Thinking
  • April – Language Learning
  • May – Psychology
  • June – Accounting
  • July – Physics
  • August – Engineering
  • September – Coding
  • October – Economics
  • November – Investing
  • December – Entrepreneurship

These areas are vague and subject to change. My intent is to start each month with a roughly outlined curriculum map for myself, and to develop this as I read and learn throughout the month. On top of these learning objectives, I will:

  • Continue to preform to the best of my ability for my employer
  • Complete a Crossfit WOD Six Days a week (travel schedule and military training permitting)
  • Read 25 pages a day (reading list and scheduling to follow)
  • Update this blog daily with my progress
  • Attend a weekly Toast Master’s meeting (public speaking is important, and needs to be developed through practice not feasible in a single month)
  • Practice TM for 20 minutes each morning

The objective is for this learning pattern to be sustainable, so it may be adjusted as I get into the swing of things. I will post later with and intended daily schedule.

Leave a Reply

