Being a Loser

So these past four days have not been great for my goals, and it reminded me of a quote:

“Losers have goals, winners have systems”

       -Scott Adams

My goals, like the goals of all people (save some psychopaths), are worthy of being achieved. However, they are built to snowball with even the smallest failure, and the systems I have put in place are unsustainable outside of the ideal scenario.

My attempted system was as follows:

  • Be in bed by 9:30 pm
  • Wake up at 4:30 am (auto alarm)
  • Go to Crossfit at 5:00am
  • Home at 6:10am to shower
  • Meditate at 6:30am
  • Study and blog from 7:00am- completion (usually 7:45 or 8:00)
  • Go to work
  • Come home
  • Eat Dinner
  • Watch an episode of Dexter
  • Read from 8:30 to bedtime

Some inherent issues:

  • Fails if I need to be up later than 9:30
  • Fails on the road
  • Fails when there isn’t Crossfit
  • Fails if I fall asleep during mediation
  • Fails if I don’t set my alarm (or incorrectly think my alarm is set)
  • Does not account for proper nutritional planning
  • Allows for (relatively) painless exit from the plan

Next steps

  • Develop stakes
  • Plan for road trips and drill
  • Plan for late nights
  • Make a system that works me, not the other way around
  • Build in nutrition

More to follow

Leave a Reply

